Those who have chosen to get their Nevada Concealed Firearms Permit will be relieved to know that the Nevada CCW renewal process is slightly easier than getting their initial permit. While you’ll still need to complete a Nevada Sheriffs’ and Chiefs’ Association-approved firearms safety course, it’s only 4 hours instead of 8, and your renewal application usually takes less time than your initial application.
Nevada Concealed Firearms Permits are valid for five years from the date of issue, and unique to Nevada is the ability to renew your permit at any time during those five years — and up to 364 days after expiration!
The Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department (the issuing authority for Clark County, Nevada) recommends starting the renewal process at least four months before your current permit expires. If you’re seeking to renew your Nevada CCW permit, read on for the full requirements and steps you need to take.
What are the requirements to renew a Nevada CCW?
The requirements to renew your Nevada CCW Permit are largely the same as the requirements to apply for your initial permit when it comes to eligibility and disqualifiers. You’ll save at least 4 hours of classroom time regarding the firearms safety course requirement.
Nevada CCW renewal eligibility
Per NRS 202.3673, Nevada CCW renewal applicants must meet the same eligibility requirements as initial permit applicants in order to apply:
- Age 21 at time of application, unless you are either active-duty military or have been honorably discharged (will require DD214 or current military ID and copy of orders assigning you to a base in Nevada)
- Possess a current DMV-issued ID with the correct physical address — this can be a driver’s license, Real ID, or state ID card
- If you were born outside the United States or a United States territory, possess one of the below as a second form of identification:
- U.S. Passport
- Consular Report of Birth Abroad
- Certificate of Citizenship
- Certificate of Naturalization
- Permanent Resident Card (Green Card)
- Immigrant Visa Document
- Employment Authorization Document (Form I-766)
- CBP Form I-94 and a Nevada Hunting License
- Within the 12 months preceding the application date, complete a 4-hour firearms safety course approved by the Nevada Sheriffs’ and Chiefs’ Association — including live-fire qualification — must be completed in the county you reside in
Nevada CCW renewal disqualifiers
According to NRS 202.3657, if any of these apply to you, then you will be immediately and automatically disqualified from renewing your Nevada CCW (and are not eligible to carry a concealed firearm in Nevada):
- You have been convicted of:
- Any felony
- Any domestic violence or stalking charge
- Any crime involving the threat or use of force in the last three years, including misdemeanors
- Any DUI (alcohol or other substances) within the last five years
- You have a warrant for your arrest (including bench warrants — pay those traffic tickets!)
- You are currently on parole or probation for any conviction
- You have been dishonorably discharged from the U.S. military
- You are unlawfully in the United States
- You are currently the subject of a protection order or restraining order
- You have been declared mentally incompetent by a judge
- You have been admitted to an inpatient mental health facility within the last five years
- You are prohibited for any reason by state or federal law from possessing a firearm
- You make any false statements on the CCW renewal application form
How much does a Nevada CCW renewal cost?
Another bonus to renewing your Nevada CCW is that it’s cheaper than the initial permit. An expired CCW permit is more expensive to renew — so don’t wait!
- Nevada CCW renewal total cost: $65.25
- Renewal application fee: $25.00
- FBI background check fee: $40.25
- Late renewal total cost (up to 364 days after expiration): $80.25
- Late renewal application fee: $40.00
- FBI background check fee: $40.25
If your Nevada CCW permit has been expired for a year or longer, you’ll have to apply for an initial permit.
What is the process to renew a Nevada CCW?
Renewing a Nevada CCW permit is a very similar process to applying for your initial permit. Check with your County Sheriff’s office in the county you reside in for specific instructions. For Clark County residents:
- Complete a 4-hour firearms safety course, to include a live-fire qualification (must be a course/instructor approved by the Nevada Sheriffs’ and Chiefs’ Association)
- Apply online or fill out a paper application (DO NOT SIGN IT UNTIL INSTRUCTED TO DO SO IN PERSON) and schedule an in-person appointment with the Las Vegas Metropolitan Police Department (LVMPD)
- Visit the LVMPD Records and Fingerprint Bureau to have your photo and fingerprints taken, and turn in your paper application if you did not apply online. Do not sign your paper application until instructed to do so by an LVMPD employee.
- Wait up to 120 days for your new permit to arrive by mail
Nevada state law requires CCW applications to be approved or rejected within 120 days of submission (the day you are fingerprinted). If you have not received either your permit or a written notice that your application was denied by the 120th day, contact the LVMPD: (702) 828-8190 between 7 a.m. and 4 p.m. Monday through Friday.
How long are Nevada CCW permits valid for?
Nevada Concealed Firearms permits are valid for five years from the date of issue (which is noted on your permit). You can apply for renewal at any time through the LVMPD, which recommends you begin the renewal process at least four months before it expires.
If your permit has been expired for less than one year, you may still apply for renewal.
If your concealed carry permit is currently expired, then it is illegal for you to conceal a firearm on your person! Even if your permit application is being processed, do not carry a concealed firearm until you have your valid permit.
Nevada CCW renewal qualification
If you are a resident of Clark County, NV, or a non-resident applying for your Nevada CCW renewal in Clark County, you can complete the required classroom and live fire qualification in The Range 702’s Nevada CCW renewal class. Our firearms safety course and instructors are approved by the Nevada Sheriffs’ and Chiefs’ Association, and we provide a paper copy of the renewal application and walk you through how to fill it out.
Our class is highly recommended and very positively reviewed, and available three days a week (weekends and Wednesdays). Sign up to renew your Nevada CCW permit today!