Women Specific CCW: What You Need to Know About Protecting Yourself
Concerned individuals across the nation are completing concealed carry classes at an incredible rate – and women now represent a rapidly-growing segment of this population
Some women walk their kids home from school each day, while others leave late-night shifts at their place of employment and head home under the glow of the streetlights. Others are avid about the outdoors, while still others are acutely conscious of their role as head of household and protector of the family. Regardless of each woman’s particular mission, one thing is certain – the ability to defend oneself against dangerous threats is an important skill to obtain, and a concealed carry permit (CCW) can be a lifesaver. If you’re a woman who is ready to take charge of protecting yourself and your loved ones from the dangers of the world, consider obtaining a CCW permit right away. Here’s what you need to know:
- First, each state puts forth unique requirements that must be satisfied prior to carrying a concealed handgun. Some states, like Alaska, do not require a permit to carry a handgun, while others (we’re talking about you, California) make it incredibly difficult – though not impossible, to obtain a permit. The first step is determining what your state requirements are regarding CCW. Click here for a list of state-by-state parameters.
- Once you’ve signed up for your women’s CCW class and understand the unique permitting requirements of your state or municipality, it is time to select a handgun as your primary carry weapon. The easiest way to do this is to visit your local shooting range and sample as many guns as possible before committing to your choice. Selecting a carry gun is a personal choice, and you’ll want to make sure that it fits your hand, carries comfortably in your chosen holster, and you can shoot it easily.
- Next, you’ll want to complete a professional concealed carry class. Women’s only classes are available, and are a great way to learn the rules and regulations of concealed carry for women, while in the company of like-minded people. Keep in mind that these classes aren’t designed to instruct you on proper shooting techniques or basic gun handling – you should know that before you sign up.
- Finally, complete the permitting requirements for your state and obtain your permit. Once you do, you can legally carry according to the unique laws in your locale – and that means you’ll be better prepared to handle any direct threats against you or your loved ones. Expect to pay anywhere from $75-100 for the CCW class, another $96.25 with metro for permit process first time and $61.25 for renewal, plus the cost of your gun.
Obtaining a CCW permit is a tremendous idea if personal safety is a priority for you. A Nevada women’s-only CCW class through The Range 702 enables lawful carry in 36 states and is facilitated by a female Certified Firearms Instructor. Visit our class page or see or classes below for more information on our available classes, or simply come by The Range 702 in Las Vegas. You’ll discover a premier shooting range in the heart of the city of Vegas.