A row of handguns at The Range 702.

Concealed Carry Laws in Nevada

Handgun on black background with bullets underneath it

Whether living in, moving to, or visiting Nevada, it’s a good idea to familiarize yourself with the state’s concealed carry laws before carrying a concealed weapon. Let’s look at what you need to know about Las Vegas and Nevada’s concealed carry laws and what steps you must take to carry concealed here. Before we proceed, we should note that Nevada is not a “Constitutional Carry” state. You must have a valid CCW permit to carry a concealed firearm in Nevada.

Firearms safety and proficiency training, CCW Permits, and CCW renewals are available at The Range 702.

Is Nevada a Constitutional Carry State?

Constitutional carry states are states where you can carry a concealed firearm without a permit, provided you’re able to legally possess a firearm.

Nevada is not a constitutional carry state. You must have a valid Nevada or recognized out-of-state concealed firearms permit to carry a concealed weapon legally. Per the terms of NRS 202.3653, a CCW permit is required to conceal loaded or unloaded handguns. Concealing a firearm without a valid permit in Nevada is a state Felony. 

Can I Concealed Carry in Las Vegas?

Yes – as long as you have a valid Nevada CCW or a valid CCW from a state which Nevada recognizes. The City of Las Vegas (and Clark County – the Las Vegas Strip is on County land) do not have any laws on the books which restrict lawful concealed carry. This means that as long as you’re in compliance with Nevada state law for carrying a concealed firearm, you’re allowed to conceal carry in these areas. This does not, however, prevent private property owners from restricting firearm possession on their private property.

Can I Concealed Carry in Bars and Casinos?

Las Vegas is known for its bars and casinos. With over 340 bars and 150 casinos, it’s no surprise that both are popular destinations for the city’s residents and visitors. CCW laws in Nevada do not prohibit people from carrying concealed weapons in bars or casinos. However, as previously noted, private property owners can establish rules for patrons – if you’re asked to leave because you’re carrying, it is a private property owner’s right to do so. Furthermore, carrying a firearm while intoxicated (BAC over 0.08) is a misdemeanor in Nevada, per NRS 202.257.

Is Nevada an Open Carry State?

Carrying a weapon that’s fully visible to others is called open carry. Nevada has no restrictions prohibiting open carry. Anyone with the legal right to possess a firearm in the state can openly carry a firearm without a permit. It should be noted that in Nevada, this means the entire firearm and holster is “discernible by ordinary observation”. If any part of the firearm or holster is concealed, whether in a bag, under a jacket, etc. – then it is considered concealed and you must have a valid concealed firearm permit. “Virginia tuck” and “Mexican carry” are considered concealed in Nevada.

How Do I Legally Carry a Concealed Firearm in Nevada?

Provided you’re legally permitted to possess a firearm in Nevada, you can carry a concealed weapon after you get a concealed firearm permit. 

Any legal gun owners who are current or honorably discharged members of the military and 18 years of age or otherwise 21 years old can qualify for a concealed firearms permit. Those meeting the age requirements who have valid ID can take a concealed carry permit class to obtain their permit. Once you receive your concealed carry permit, you must carry your permit and state ID, real ID, or driver’s license when carrying a concealed weapon.

Does Nevada Recognize Out-of-State CCW Permits?

Yes! Nevada recognizes CCW permits from 29 states. You can see a full breakdown (and a helpful map) of which out-of-state permits Nevada recognizes in our Nevada CCW Reciprocity Guide.

Where Can I Carry a Concealed Firearm in Nevada?

Nevada’s CCW laws allow individuals with concealed carry permits to carry concealed weapons in public places, with some exceptions. NRS 202.3763 prohibits concealed carry at airports, public schools, some childcare facilities, and public buildings that post restrictions prohibiting firearms. There are some exceptions to these restrictions, and it’s crucial to apply for appropriate exemptions allowing you to carry a concealed weapon at a public school or childcare facility or verify you meet the exceptions before carrying a concealed weapon in restricted venues. 

Carrying a concealed weapon on private property is subject to the discretion of the property’s owner or manager. A private property owner or manager can deny you access, ask you to leave, or require you to secure your weapon.

Do I Have To Inform the Police That I Have a Concealed Firearm?

You are not required to proactively notify police that you have a concealed firearm. However, you are required to present your valid state ID and concealed firearms permit if a police officer asks to see it. 

A Range 702 instructor helping an individual at the range.

Nevada residents can contact The Range 702 today to learn about our concealed carry permit class and firearms safety course. 


Concealed Firearms. (2024). 

Gun Ownership by Country 2024. (2024). 

Guns per Capita 2024. (2024). 

NRS 202.3673 Permittee authorized to carry concealed firearm while on premises of public building; exceptions; penalty. (2024). 

Percentage of households in the United States owning one or more firearms from 1972 to 2023. (2024). 

Velotta, R.N. (2023). What cities are the best for partying, nightlight?

Similar Posts